Lightspeed Champion Reacquaints Himself with New Album

Lightspeed Champion
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Although he’s only in his 20s, Lightspeed Champion’s Dev Hynes has had to reintroduce himself several times. Once a guitarist for unfortunately-named-and-now-defunct rock band, Test Icicles, the singer/songwriter reemerged in 2008 with the country-inspired Falling Off the Lavender Bridge. And now, after dabbling into classical compositions and musical theatre, he is ready to do it all over again.

Life is Sweet! Nice to Meet You, out Feb. 10 on Domino, will be Lightspeed Champion’s second full-length album. Produced and mixed by Ben Allen (Animal Collective, Gnarls Barkley), its 15 tracks promises, in Hynes’ words, “joltingly ‘70s guitar and synth sounds, classical piano, Greek choruses shouting reprisals, and at least one ukelele-driven moment.” We just hope it contains none of what he, one of our former 4 to Watch, has witnessed in IMDb’s 100 Worst Movies.


1. Dead Head Blues 9 – Madame Van Damme
2. Marlene 10 – Smooth Day (At The Library)
3. There’s Nothing Underwater 11 – Intermission 2
4. Intermission 12 – Sweetheart
5. Faculty Of Fears 13 – Etude Op.3 ‘Goodnight Michalek’
6. The Big Guns Of Highsmith 14 – Middle Of The Dark
7. Romart 15 – A Bridge And A Goodbye
8. I Don’t Want To Wake Up Alone
9. Madame Van Damme
10. Smooth Day (At The Library)
11. Intermission 2
12. Sweetheart
13. Etude Op.3 ‘Goodnight Michalek’
14. Middle Of The Dark
15. A Bridge And A Goodbye