Flaming Lips Reveal Dark Side of the Moon Release Details

The Flaming Lips and Stardeath and White Dwarfs have more than a few things in common, not least of which is the influence of Pink Floyd. Now, at long last, the pair has announced details of the track-by-track cover of Floyd’s 1973 classic, The Dark Side of the Moon, which will be available online Dec. 22.

The bands recorded the album together in Oklahoma City, accompanied by Henry Rollins and Peaches, and considered it all “purely a labor of love.” The Lips and Dwarfs additionally produced the tracks with their own modern interpretations on each song. The record will be available exclusively via iTunes starting Dec. 22, and then through all download sites Dec. 29.

The Flaming Lips  and Stardeath and White Dwarfs play their last show of 2009 on New Year’s Eve in Oklahoma City, where they’ll both play full live sets before performing Dark Side at midnight. For tickets and information, click here.

The Dark Side Of The Moon tracks:

1. Speak To Me / Breathe (w/ Henry Rollins and Peaches)
2. On The Run (fw/ Henry Rollins)
3. Time / Breathe Reprise
4. The Great Gig In The Sky (w/ Henry Rollins and Peaches)
5. Money (w/ Henry Rollins)
6. Us And Them (w/ Henry Rollins)
7. Any Colour You Like
8. Brain Damage (w/ Henry Rollins)
9. Eclipse (w/ Henry Rollins)