Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings Announce New Album

Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Sharon Jones  is getting an extra special birthday gift this year: a new album. Jones will ring in her 54th year with I Learned the Hard Way, her fourth album with the Dap-Kings. Known for their energetic live performances, Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings latest 12-track recording—scheduled for a May 4 release—is packed with another batch of the funky soul tracks they do so well.

I Learned the Hard Way is yet another effort by Jones and her Dap-Kings to bring soul music back to its traditional roots. Some tracks are full and rich (“The Game Gets Old”) while others are more stripped down (“Mama Don’t Like My Man”), but all evoke the retro vibes of soul greats like Tina Turner, Aretha Franklin and James Brown. The new record was produced by Bosco Mann and was recorded on an Ampex eight-track tape machine by Gabriel Roth in Daptone Records’ House of Soul studios in Brooklyn.


1. The Game Gets Old
2. I Learned The Hard Way
3. Better Things
4. Give It Back
5. Money
6. The Reason
7. Window Shopping
8. She Ain’t A Child No More
9. I’ll Still Be True
10. Without A Heart
11. If You Call
12. Mama Don’t Like My Man