Bettye LaVette Covers The British Rock Songbook on New Album

Bettye LaVette
Share Tweet Submit Pin

In 2008, Bettye LaVette performed The Who’s “Love Reign O’er Me,” at The Kennedy Center Honors. The rendition reportedly brought the song’s author Pete Townshend to tears, and became the starting point for an album of covers titled Interpretations: The British Rock Songbook. The album comes out May 25 via Anti.

The record’s 13 songs give LaVette’s signature soul treatment to British-rock classics from the Beatles to Led Zeppelin to Pink Floyd to Elton John. Check out the tracklist below.

Interpretations: The British Rock Songbook tracklist:

1. The Word (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)
2. No Time To Live (James Capaldi/Stephen Winwood)
3. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood (Bennie Benjamin/Gloria Caldwell/Sol Marcus)
4. All My Love (John Baldwin/Robert Plant)
5. Isn’t It A Pity (George Harrison)
6. Wish You Were Here (David Gilmour/Roger Waters)
7. It Don’t Come Easy (Richard Starkey)
8. Maybe I’m Amazed (Paul McCartney)
9. Salt Of The Earth (Michael Jagger/Keith Richards)
10. Nights In White Satin (David Hayward)
11. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad (Eric Clapton/Bobby Whitlock)
12. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me (Elton John/Bernard Taupin)
13. Love Reign O’er Me (Peter Townshend)