MGMT Announces New Album, Congratulations

Share Tweet Submit Pin

Fans have been waiting for the follow-up to MGMT Oracular Spectacular for what seems like decades in internet time (read: two years), but the date has finally been set for the release of the highly anticipated Congratulations.

The nine new songs were recorded in sessions at studios in both New York and Malibu with co-producer Sonic Boom (A.K.A. Pete Kember). The record also features guest vocals from Jennifer Herrema, frontwoman of Royal Trux. “We’ve been lucky enough to meet and work with some of our all-time musical heroes,” singer Andrew Vanwyngarden said in a statement. “It’s so great to be around such amazing and unusual musical minds.”

The album, which Vanwyngarden described as darker, comes out April 13, and is available for pre-order on MGMT’s website.


1. It’s Working
2. Song for Dan Treacy
3. Someone’s Missing
4. Flash Delirium
5. I Found a Whistle
6. Siberian Breaks
7. Brian Eno 
8. Lady Dada’s Nightmare
9. Congratulations