José González's Band Junip Announces Album, Tour, Free MP3

José González
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Singer-songwriter José González charmed us with his chilling, raspy voice on his 2008 album, In Our Nature. Now, González is re-teaming with his band, Junip, a group that originally formed over 10 years ago in Sweden. The band, made up of González (guitar, vocals), Elias Araya (drums) and Tobias Winterkorn (organ, moog), released a 7-inch in 2000. They also self-released an EP titled Black Refuge in 2006.

Though the trio has played together any time their schedules permitted, this year the three musicians are putting all their energy and focus into the band. They will release an EP and a full-length this year, and will also tour a good bit. Fans of González can expect similar music from Junip, albeit with a more fleshed-out sound. You can download a free MP3 on the band’s website. Check out their tour dates, below.

28 – Barcelona, Spain @ Primavera Sound Festival

8 – Boston, Mass. @ Great Scott
9 – Brooklyn, N.Y. @ Knitting Factory
10 – New York, N.Y. @ Bowery Ballroom
12 – Milwaukee, Wisc. @ Turner Hall
13 – Chicago, Ill. @ Lincoln Hall
16 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Eagle Rock Arts Center
18 – San Francisco, Calif. @ Rickshaw Stop
19 – Seattle, Wash. @ Vera Project

21 – Nijmegen, The Netherlands @ De Affaire Festival
23 – Gent, Belgium @ Boomtown Festival

12 – 14 – Rees-Haldern am Niederrhein, Germany @ Haldern Pop Festival
12 – 14 – Gothenburg, Sweden @ Way Out West Festival
15 – Leicester, UK @ Summer Sundae Festival