Jeff Tweedy-Produced Mavis Staples Album Due Sept. 14

Jeff Tweedy
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Legendary soul singer Mavis Staples teamed up with Wilco frontman Jeff Tweedy on her latest album, You Are Not Alone, coming Sept. 14 on Anti-. Tweedy produced the album in Wilco’s Chicago studio, The Loft, and wrote two songs for Staples, including its title track. Other writing credits include Randy Newman, Allen Toussaint and John Fogerty.

Before Staples’ album comes out, she’ll make a couple festival appearances. First up is Lollapalooza in her hometown of Chicago before she heads to Massachusetts to play the first-ever Wilco-curated Solid Sound Festival.

Track list for You Are Not Alone:

1. You Don’t Knock
2. You Are Not Alone
3. Downward Road
4. In Christ There is No East and West
5. Creep Along, Moses
6. Losing You
7. I Belong to the Band
8. Last Train
9. Only the Lord Knows
10. Wrote A Song for Everyone
11. We’re Gonna Make It
12. Wonderful Savior
13. Too Close To Heaven / I’m On My Way to Heaven Anyhow