Franz Nicolay Readies New Album, Releases First MP3

Franz Nicolay
Share Tweet Submit Pin

After touring on his debut solo effort, Major General, and playing a few dates with Florida punk rockers Against Me! this summer, Franz Nicolay is preparing to release another LP. The former keyboardist for The Hold Steady will release the album, dubbed Luck and Courage, Oct. 12 via Team Science Records.

Nicolay spent two weeks recording the record in Brooklyn with producer Jim Keller (Willie Nelson, Franz Ferdinand) and enlisted the musical talents of Brian Viglione (The Dresden Dolls), Yula Be’eri (World/Inferno Friendship Society), Maria Sonevytsky (The Debutante Hour), Mark Spencer (Son Volt), Ben Holmes, Jared Scott (Demander), Ken Thomson (Gutbucket) and Emily Hope Price (Pearl and the Beard).

Download the album’s first single, “This is Not a Pipe,” here and check out a full tracklist below:

Luck and Courage:

1. Felix & Adelita
2. Have Mercy
3. This Is Not A Pipe
4. My Criminal Uncle
5. Z for Zachariah
6. Job 35:10
7. James Ensor Redeemed
8. Anchorage (New Moon Baby)
9. The Last Words of Gene Autry
10. Luck & Courage
11. Rock, Rinse, Repeat (Vinyl-only Bonus Track)

More from Franz Nicolay