The Decemberists' New Album Gets a Title, Release Date

The Decemberists
Share Tweet Submit Pin

The Decemberists   will release the follow-up to 2009’s Hazards of Love early next year.

The King is Dead, the Portland group’s sixth studio effort, will be available on Capitol Records on Jan. 18. As previously reported, Colin Meloy and company will be joined by Gillian Welch and R.E.M.’s Peter Buck on various tracks.


1. Don’t Carry It All
2. Calamity Song
3. Rise to Me
4. Rox in the Box
5. January Hymn
6. Down By the Water
7. All Arise!
8. June Hymn
9. This Is Why We Fight
10. Dear Avery

Listen to Meloy play three of the above songs here.