Tom Waits, Dr. John, Alice Cooper to be Inducted into Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

Tom Waits
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Neil Diamond, Alice Cooper, Darlene Love, Tom Waits and Dr. John will be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Other than Love, all of this year’s inductees had never been previously nominated. The five new Hall of Famers beat out Donna Summer, Chic, The Beastie Boys, LL Cool J, Bon Jovi, Laura Nyro, Donovan, Joe Tex and Chuck Willis.

Leon Russell will also be awarded the award for musical excellence, and non-performer awards will go to Elektra Records founder Jac Holzman and Specialty label creator Art Rupe. The 26th Annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held on March 14.

Meanwhile, if you need to get in the holiday spirit and remind yourself why Darlene Love is Hall-worthy, watch her tear into “Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)” below.