Steve Earle to Release New Album, Debut Novel

Books News Steve Earle
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Steve Earle to Release New Album, Debut Novel

Steve Earle  is set to release a new album and book later this year. The T-Bone Burnett-produced record, I’ll Never Get Out Of This World Alive, is the follow-up to 2009’s Townes and marks the first set of original material released since the Earle’s 2007 Grammy-award-winning Washington Square Serenade. The new LP includes songs written for an Earle-produced Joan Baez record as well as the Grammy-nominated song “This City” that was written for HBO series Treme.

Earle’s debut novel of the same name follows the life of Doc Ebersole as he is haunted by the ghost of his former patient and friend, the legendary Hank Williams. Thomas Cobb, the author of Crazy Heart, has called the novel “an impressive debut” saying, “The characters are unforgettable, and the plot moves like a fast train. A fantastic mixture of hard reality and dark imagination.” Both the novel and the new album are named after the last single released by Williams during his lifetime.

Earle’s 14th album will be released on April 26 on New West Records, while the novel will be published a month later on May 12 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

Although no dates have been announced, Earle will be touring in support of the new record with his electric live band The Dukes.

I’ll Never Get Out Of This World Alive tracklist:
1. Waitin’ On The Sky
2. Little Emperor
3. The Gulf of Mexico
4. Molly – O
5. God is God
6. Meet Me In The Alleyway
7. Every Part of Me
8. Lonely Are The Free
9. Heaven or Hell (with Allison Moorer)
10. I Am A Wanderer
11. This City