Sonic Youth/Nirvana 1991 Tour Documentary Coming to DVD

Music News Sonic Youth
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Sonic Youth/Nirvana 1991 Tour Documentary Coming to DVD

In 1991, Sonic Youth was on tour tearing through Europe. Opening for the band was a rising grunge outfit from Seattle called Nirvana.

The tour became the focus of documentary film 1991: The Year Punk Broke. While Sonic Youth is the main subject of the doc, Nirvana gets plenty of screentime, while Dinosaur Jr., The Ramones, Babes in Toyland and Gumball are featured as well.

According to director Dave Markey, Universal Music is planning an extended 20th anniversary edition of the movie on DVD later this year. As a bonus, the DVD will include a 42-minute film called The Blues Scale, which contains never before seen performances from Sonic Youth (“Inhuman”, “White Kross”, “Orange Rolls/Angel’s Spit”, and “Eric’s Trip”) and Nirvana (“In Bloom”). Other features include footage of a 2003 panel discussion with Sonic Youth’s Thurston Moore, Lee Ranaldo, and Steve Shelley, Dinosaur Jr.’s J Mascis, and Markey, as well as supplemental performance material and feature-length commentary from Markey and Moore.

No official release date has been announced yet.

Watch clips of The Blues Scale here, and check out the documentary footage of Sonic Youth performing “Schizophrenia” below.