Xiu Xiu Joins New Labels, Gets New Band Members

Music News Xiu Xiu
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Xiu Xiu Joins New Labels, Gets New Band Members

Indie-rockers Xiu Xiu have joined two new labels (Polyvinyl Records in the U.S. and Bella Union in the U.K.) and recruited two new band members (Sam Mickens of The Dead Science and Zac Pennington of Parenthetical Girls).

The full group is now composed Mickens and Pennington along with Angelo Seo and Jamie Stewart.

The as-yet-untitled follow-up to Dear God, I Hate Myself will be released in early 2012. Greg Saunier of Deerhoof will play on the album, which is being mixed by John Congleton.

In September, the first release from the new Xiu Xiu lineup will arrive: a 7” that features a new song, “Daphney,” which has Stewart, Pennington and Mickens writing collaboratively for the first time. The 7” also contains a cover of Rhianna’s “Only Girl in the World.”

Xiu Xiu will head to Europe this summer for some festivals and return to the U.S. for a short tour, including a stop at the Hopscotch Music Festival.

A split-7”, Almost Deerhoof, Almost Xiu Xiu from Deerhoof and Xiu Xiu, naturally, came out last weekend to celebrate Record Store Day.