Jay-Z and Kanye West Push Back Tour, Jay-Z Responds to Record Stores

Music News Jay-Z
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Jay-Z and Kanye West Push Back Tour, Jay-Z Responds to Record Stores

As if the multiple delays in Watch the Throne’s release hadn’t built up enough anticipation, Kanye and Jay-Z have now announced that their tour is being pushed back as well.

The tour is now set to kick off in Atlanta on Oct. 29, and though only 17 dates are included in this new announcement, more are expected to come. Pre-sale tickets are on sale now at Live Nation, and a public sale begins Aug. 8.

Jay-Z  also made a surprise appearance on Hot 97, where he addressed independent record stores’ concerns over the exclusive deals made with iTunes and Best Buy.

“I feel a little bad about it,” Jay told Angie Martinez, “but at the same time, it’s like, we made this album, we took eight months. We should be able to release it the way we would like.”

The rapper also cited the risk of an album leak as the main reason for the decision, though he did not address Best Buy’s exclusive rights to the deluxe edition of the album.

Check out the updated tour dates below.

29 – Atlanta, Ga. @ Philips Arena
30 – Greensboro, N.C. @ Greensboro Coliseum

1 – Baltimore, Md. @ 1st Mariner Arena
2 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ Wells Fargo Arena
3 – Washington, D.C. @ Verizon Center
5 – E. Rutherford, N.J. @ Izod Center
6 – E. Rutherford, N.J. @ Izod Center
21 – Boston, Mass. @ TD Garden
23 – Toronto, Ontario @ Air Canada Centre
26Detroit, Mich. @ Palace of Auburn Hills

1 – Chicago, Ill. @ United Center
5 – Houston, Texas @ Toyota Center
6 – Dallas, Texas @ American Airlines Center
9Las Vegas, Nev. @ MGM Grand Garden Arena
10 – San Jose, Calif. @ HP Pavilion
12 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Staples Center
18 – Vancouver, B.C. @ Rogers Arena