New Order to Release 7 Tracks from Waiting for the Sirens’ Call Sessions

Music News New Order
Share Tweet Submit Pin
New Order to Release 7 Tracks from <i>Waiting for the Sirens&#8217; Call</i> Sessions

The members of New Order have agreed to release seven previously unreleased tracks from the recording sessions of Waiting for the Sirens’ Call, the group’s final album, which was originally released in 2005. Bassist Peter Hook broke the news to Slicing Up Eyeballs earlier today, explaining that the release should make New Order’s somewhat messy breakup “a little cleaner.”

What has yet to be decided is just how the material will be released. Hook would like to see a standalone release but states that he’s consistently outvoted by fellow former New Order members Bernard Sumner and Stephen Morris, who would prefer a repackaging of Waiting for the Sirens’ Call. Discussions are still ongoing, but regardless of the outcome, the Joy Division co-founding bassist is pleased that the tracks will see the light of day in some form or another.

The consensus to release this material at all came about after one of the said tracks, “Hellbent,” premiered on Total: From Joy Division to New Order, a compilation that bridged the original Joy Division and the post-Curtis revival of the group as New Order, which was released earlier this year on June 6.