Damon Albarn Announces New Album, Dr. Dee

Music News Damon Albarn
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Damon Albarn Announces New Album, <i>Dr. Dee</i>

In his spare time, Blur and Gorillaz frontman Damon Albarn somehow managed to create another full LP worth of material. This time, Albarn tackled 18 tracks inspired by the life and works of John Dee. Dee was an English mathematician, alchemist and philosopher who also served as a consultant to Elizabeth I. Albarn’s homage, simply titled Dr. Dee, is set for a May 8 release on Virgin Records.

Described by Albarn as “strange pastoral folk,” Dr. Dee melds the singer’s vocals with early English instrumentation and West African sounds. Albarn also recorded parts of the album with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra.

Additionally, Albarn and Rufus Norris have created a stage adaptation of Dee’s story that will play at English National Opera this summer. The show runs at the London Coliseum June 25, 26, 28 and 29 as well as July 4, 6 and 7.

Check out the tracklist for Dr. Dee and a teaser video below.

Dr. Dee Tracklist
1. The Golden Dawn
2. Apple Carts
3. Oh Spirit Animate Us
4. The Moon Exalted
5. A Man of England
6. Saturn
7. Coronation
8. The Marvelous Dream
9. A Prayer
10. Edward Kelley
11. Preparation
12. 9 Point Star
13. Temptation Comes In The Afternoon
14. Watching the Fire That Waltzed Away
15. Moon (Interlude)
16. Cathedrals
17. Tree Of Life
18. The Dancing King