Sigur Rós' New Album Valtari Out in May

Music News Sigur Rós
Share Tweet Submit Pin

UPDATE: Valtari’s second track, “Ekki Múkk?,” can now be streamed below, where you can also see the album’s artwork.

As previously reported, Sigur Rós has been working on a new album that was expected for a spring release. Now, according to Q Magazine, the album is finished and is right on time with a May 29 release date. The album is the band’s follow up to 2008’s Með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust and is titled Valtari.

According to the band, the eight-track album is a more electronic-based release, but is not a “dance album.” In the interview with the magazine, the band offered a few descriptions of the album, which are about as helpful as you’d expect from a band that released an album titled ( ). Bassist Georg Hólm said the album is like “looking at an old landscape painting,” and frontman Jónsi said it was like “an avalanche in slow motion.”

You can check out the album’s tracklist below thanks to twentyfourbit.

Valtari Tracklist
1. Ég Anda?
2. Ekki Múkk?
3. Varúð?
4. Rembihnútur?
5. Dauðalogn
6. Varðeldur
7. Valtari
8. Fjögur píanó.

“Ekki Múkk?”

Sigur Rós – Ekki múkk from Sigur Rós on Vimeo.

Valtari Album Art

Also in Music