Glen Hansard Announces Solo Debut, Rhythm and Repose

Music News Glen Hansard
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Glen Hansard—who is best known for his role in the film Once and his work with The Swell Season and The Frames—is set to release his first ever solo album on June 19 on Anti- Records. The album is titled Rhythm and Repose and is Hansard’s first LP since The Swell Season’s 2009 album Strict Joy.

A press release for the album said the inspiration for Rhythm and Repose was behind Hansard’s last year and a half living in New York City. The album was recorded by Patrick Dillett, who has worked with David Byrne and Laurie Anderson, and was produced by Thomas Bartlett, who has worked with The National and Antony and the Johnsons.

Musicians featured on the album include Brad Albetta on bass, Ray Rizzo on drums, Nico Muhly and Rob Moose of Bon Iver and Y Music on strings, and “half of Bruce Springsteen’s current horn section.”

You can see the tracklist for the album below, and also check out our photos of Hansard from our SXSW party this year.

Rhythm and Repose Tracklist
1. You Will Become
2. Maybe Not Tonight
3. Talking with The Wolves
4. High Hope
5. Bird of Sorrow
6. The Storm, It’s Coming
7. Love Don’t Leave Me Waiting
8. What Are We Gonna Do
9. Races
10. Philander
11. Song of Good Hope

Recently in Music