Occupy This Album Compilation to be Released May 15

Music News
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Occupy This Album, what’s being heralded as “a compilation of music by, for and inspired by the Occupy Wall Street movement and the 99%” is set for a May 15 release by Music for Occupy with Razor and Tie. The majority of the four-disc physical and 99-track digital collection includes songs that have never before been released; Artists like Joan Baez, Patti Smith, Anti Flag and Jackson Browne share the tracklisting with musician and organizer Matt Pless, New Party Systems (featuring members of TV on the Radio) and many more.

On May 8, Music for Occupy is also set to host a record release party at New York’s new City Winery (155 Varick St. New York, N.Y. 10013). The event is set to include performances and collaborations by artists appearing on the compilation, a special bottle of “Occupy This Wine” Cabernet Sauvignon and a copy of Occupy This Album. Tickets are priced at $99.99 and can be purchased on the venue’s website.

Proceeds from Occupy This Album will benefit the Occupy Wall Street movement (which began in New York City in Zuccotti Park on Sept. 17, 2011) and preorders for the mammoth collection are available here. Listen to the five-track sampler (including tracks from Ani DiFranco and Mogwai) and check out the full tracklisting below.

Disc 1
1. “Something’s Got to Give” by Matt Pless ^
2.“Come On, Come On, Come On” by Jackson Browne ^
3.“Occupation Freedom” by George Martinez & The Global Block Collective ^
4.“People Have The Power (Live In Marseille)” by Patti Smith 
5.“Love Anthem (Only Love)” by My Pet Dragon
6.“The Panic is On” by Loudon Wainwright III 
7.“Occulture” by Cosmonaut ^
8.“Save Us” by papercranes (feat. Rain Phoenix) ^
9.“Smile (Get Up and Sing)” by Jay Samel ^
10.“This Is What America Looks Like” by Tenderflex (DJ Logic & David Maurice) feat. Dynasty Electric, Ayler Young and Jay Rodriguez ^
11.“Big Little Wolfs” by Aeroplane Pageant
12.“Agent 99” by Alex Emanuel ^
13.“Safety In Numbers” by Deborah Harry ^
14.“Hey, can I Sleep On Your Futon?” by Richard Barone ^
15.“Occupy Wall Street ‘Here Here Here’” by Black Dragon ^
16.“White Gold” by Ladytron
17.“Greed” by Gabriel Aldort ^
18.“Against The Machine” by Taj Weekes & Adowa ^
19.“The Young Idealists” by Lloyd Cole
20.“A Peaceful Solution” by Willie Nelson 

Disc 2
1.“The Times They Are A-Changin’” by Michael Moore ^
2.“The World Is On Fire” by Ace Reporter
3.“Latter Days” by The Middle Eight
4.“Turn The Lights On” by Chroma
5.“Which Side Are You On?” by Ani DiFranco ^
6.“Well May The World Go” by Tao Rodriguez-Seeger
7.“Unified Tribes” by Thievery Corporation ^
8.“Robber Barons” by Thee Oh Sees
9.“Saving Up To Go Bankrupt” by Mike Rimbaud
10.“Hell No (I’m Not Alright)” by Nanci Griffith ^
11.“We Stand As One” by Joseph Arthur ^
12.“Cash Machine” by Girls Against Boys
13.“Rebellion Politik” by Junkyard Empire
14.“Nothing Recedes Like Progress” by Anti-Flag
15.“Rebel” by Fear Nuttin Band
16.“Under The Bridge” by Jill Sobule with John Doe 
17.“Take A Stand” by Stephan Said
18.“The Answer” by UNKLE
19.“World Wide Rebel Songs” by Tom Morello: The Nightwatchman
20.“If There Ever Was A Time” by Third Eye Blind ^

Disc 3
1.“Move On Fast” by Yoko Ono 
2.“If We Live” by Build The Sun ^
3.“Fight The Good Fight” by Our Lady Peace ^
4.“I Don’t Need Money” by Julie B Bonnie ^
5.“The World Is Turning” by Toots & The Maytals
6.A” New York Minute” by Nickodemus feat. The Real Live Show, Sadat X, ILLspokinN and Rabbi Darkside
7.“I Ain’t No Brian Wilson” by Gentleman Brawlers ^
8.“Industrial Park” by The Mammals (feat. Pete Seeger)
9.“Big Fish” by Yo La Tengo & the Lost City Rumblers ^
10.“Occu-Pie” by Harry Hayward ^
11.“Free” Mystic Bowie ^
12.“Oye Mi Voz” by Los Cintron ^
13.“Walk On” by Carolyn Wonderland
14.“Coney Island Winter” by Garland Jefferys
15.“China Basin Digs” by Joel Rafael
16.“Walkin’” by The Pimps of Joytime (feat. Roy Ayers)
17.“River’s Gonna Rise” by Warren Haynes Band ^
18.“Rich Man’s World” by Immortal Technique
19.“Staying Out And Calling In” by Danger Field ^

Disc 4
1.“We Can’t Make It Here” by James McMurtry with Joan Baez & Steve Earle ^
2.“We Are” by New Party Systems (feat. Kyp Malone) ^
3.“Revolution” by The Nova Echo ^
4.“Number One” by Born I Music
5.“Play The Greed” by Dar Williams 
6.“Broke Heart Blues” by Ronny Elliot ^
7.“What Are Their Names (Live)” by David Crosby & Graham Nash ^
8.“Make A Stand” by Dylan Chambers with Lester Chambers ^
9.“Better Luck Next Time” by Jenny Arnau ^
10.“All Over The World” by Arlo Guthrie & Family ^
11.“We’re The 99” by Lauren Diamond (feat. Liz O’Donnell) ^
12.“We Are Human” Mike + Ruthy ^
13.“Blessed” by Lucinda Williams 
14.“Freedom Of Speech” by Kanaska Carter ^
15.“Reclaim” by Rejectionist Front
16.“Occupy (We the 99)” by Jasiri X
17.“Earth Division” by Mogwai ^
18.“Occupy Wall Street Drummers ‘Pulse’ Spoken Word” by Paul Spitz ^
19.Hidden Bonus Track ^

Occupy This Album Digital Only
1.“Chasing The Sun” by Andrew Vladeck
2.“Livin’ Like a Joker” by Greg Smith and The Broken English
3.“Rise” by Aliza Hava
4.“Crashed IT, Stashed IT” by The Occubilly Bros. ^
5.“Invisible People” by Chris Pierce
6.“Ukulele Anthem” by Amanda Palmer ^
7.“Tree of Life” by Nadirah Shakoor
8.“On My Wall” by Hanne Hukkelberg
9.“Little Pieces of Plastic” by Jason White
10.“Never Be Defeated” by mfmadness
11.“Greedy Life” by Renegade Creation ^
12.“99%” by Jesse Lenat
13.“On The Dole” by The Swedes
14.“Brazilia” by Bill Mlotok ^
15.“Don’t Taser Me, Bro!” by Marcus Blake
16.“We Are The 99” by Angels of Vice
17.“Silence” by The Layaways
18.“Mother Feather” by Mother Feather ^
19.“Common Man” by Thorin Caristo ^
20.“Everyday” by Machan
21.“Crashing Down” by Vannucci featuring Robert Brentley ^
22.“Time To Occupy” by David Amram ^

^ Indicates previously unreleased track or version

Recently in Music