Beck, Rufus Wainwright Contribute Tracks to Every Mother Counts Compilation

Music News Beck
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Beck, Rufus Wainwright and David Bowie are among a handful of prolific musicians that have contributed unreleased tracks to a new compilation titled Every Mother Counts.

The proceeds from the album will benefit Every Mother Counts, an advocacy and mobilization campaign that aims to increase both support and education for global maternal mortality reduction.

The 19-track compilation features exclusive tracks from U2’s Bono, Eddie Vedder, Paul Simon, Lauryn Hill, Sting and Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros among others.

Starbucks is set to carry exclusively Every Mother Counts from May 1-29.

Take a listen to Beck’s rendition of “Corrina, Corrina,” a track most notably covered by Bob Dylan, but that dates back to the 1920 via Pitchfork. Check out the the track list for Every Mother Counts below as well as Edward Sharpes track “Mother.”

Track list:
1.   Bono  and the Edge – “Original of the Species”
2. Eddie Vedder – ”Skipping”
3. Paul Simon and Edie Brickell – “Pretty Day”
4. Faith Hill – “Wish for You”
5. Sade – “The Sweetest Gift”
6. Lauryn Hill – “I Remember”
7. Rita Wilson – “Baby I’m Yours”
8. Diana Krall – “Don’t Fence Me In”
9. Seal – “Secret”
10. Dave Matthews Band – “Sister”
11. Sting – “Fragilidad”
12. Alanis Morissette – “Magical Child”
13. Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros – “Mother”
14. David Bowie – “Everyone Says ‘Hi’”
15. Cedella Marley – “Get Up Stand Up”
16. Beck – “Corrina, Corrina”
17. Rufus Wainwright – “Instead of the Dead”
18. Patti Smith – “Somalia”
19. Coldplay – “Yellow”

Also in Music