Calexico Announces New Album

Algiers Set for Sept. 11

Music News Calexico
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Calexico Announces New Album

Alt-country duo Calexico announced their first album in four years, which will mark a move to Anti- Records. The album is titled Algiers and follows core members Joey Burns and John Convertino’s move to New Orleans, where they lived and recorded in a converted church in the outskirts of the city.

“The place is strong and bold, soulful to the core, but surrounded by a sea of darkness,” Burns said of New Orleans in a press release. “There’s something creepy and old on the edge of town and written throughout the town’s histories. Those kinds of aesthetics help with the writing.” Their sense of place has been an obvious influence as the album title bares the same name as the neighborhood in which their album was recorded.

The announcement comes in conjunction with the release of the album’s tracklist and a video for it’s first single, “Para.” Algiers will hit stores on Sept. 11.

Algiers Tracklist
1. Epic
2. Splitter
3. Sinner in the Sea
4. Fortune Teller
5. Para
6. Algiers
7. Maybe on Monday
8. Puerto
9. Better and Better
10. No Te Vayas
11. Hush
12. Solstice of a Vanishing Mind