The Mountain Goats Announce New Album

Transcendental Youth due out Oct. 2

Music News The Mountain Goats
Share Tweet Submit Pin
The Mountain Goats Announce New Album

The Mountain Goats  have announced that they will be releasing a new full-length album, Transcendental Youth, on Oct. 2 via Merge Records. The new record will follow-up the John Darnielle and company’s 2011 release All Eternals Deck, which was their first release on Merge.

According to the John Hodgman-penned press release, Transcendental Youth “is full of songs about people who madly, stupidly, blessedly won’t stop surviving, no matter who gives up on them.”

“I can report that it is a very good album and has many more instruments on it than those early tapes, including Peter Hughes on bass, Jon Wurster on drums, and, for the first time, a full horn section,” Hodgman said. “And all of this makes a very joyous noise.”

Check out the album’s tracklisting below:

Transcendental Youth Tracklist:
1. Amy aka Spent Gladiator 1
2. Lakeside View Apartments Suite
3. Cry For Judas
4. Harlem Roulette
5. White Cedar
6. Until I Am Whole
7. Night Light
8. The Diaz Brothers
9. Counterfeit Florida Plates
10. In Memory of Satan
11. Spent Gladiator 2
12. Transcendental Youth