Beck's Philip Glass Remix Album Set for October Release

Music News Beck
Share Tweet Submit Pin

A remix album of Philip Glass’ work will be released Oct. 23 in celebration of the composer’s 75th birthday this January, according to Pitchfork. The project was apparently inspired by conversations between Glass and Beck and will be released via Orange Mountain Music/Ernest Jenning/The Kora Records.

Rework: Philip Glass Remixed will include reworks of Glass’ original compositions by Beck, former Battles member Tyondai Braxton, Amon Tobin, Memory Tapes and Dan Deacon. In addition to the two-disc album, Glass’ work continues to be showcased in the production Einstein on the Beach tour, which is an opera about Walt Disney’s final days. Check out the remix album’s track list below.

Rework: Philip Glass Remixed Track List
Disc 1
1 - My Great Ghost: “Music in Twelve Parts, Part 1”
2 - Tyondai Braxton: “Rubric (Remix)”
3 - Nosaj Thing: “Knee 1 (Remix)”
4 - Dan Deacon: “Alight Spiral Ship (Philip Glass Remix)”
5 - Amon Tobin: “Warda’s Whorehouse Inside Out Version”
6 - Silver Alert: “Etoile Polaire: Little Dipper”
7 - Memory Tapes: “Floe ‘87 (Remix)”
8 - Cornelius 3: “Opening From Glassworks”

Disc 2
1 - Beck: “NYC: 73-78”
2 - Jóhann Jóhannsson: “Protest (Remix)”
3 - Pantha du Prince: “Mad Rush Organ (Remix)”
4 - Peter Broderick: “Island (Remix)”

Also in Music