Alabama Shakes, Gillian Welch, Bonnie Raitt Honored at Americana Music Awards

Music News Alabama Shakes
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Alabama Shakes, Gillian Welch, Bonnie Raitt Honored at Americana Music Awards

The 11th annual Americana Honors & Awards were held last night in Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium. Put on by the Americana Music Association, the ceremony honored the genre’s rich tradition—Bonnie Raitt was given the Lifetime Achievement Award for Performance and the Guy Clark tribute album This One’s Him was awarded Album of the Year—as well as it’s promising future, with The Civil Wars and Alabama Shakes both picking up awards. Singer/songwriter Gillian Welch was named Artist of the Year.

“Tonight was a perfect example of why I love Americana,” said Jed Hilly, executive director of the Americana Music Association. “From the rock and soul of Alabama Shakes to the perfection of Gill and Dave, all of our winners honor the traditions of American roots music while pushing the form forward.”

The ceremony was also filled with performances from the nominees and award winners, including a Guy Clark performance of “My Favorite Picture of You” that came moments before This One’s Him won Album of the Year. Other notable performers included Emerging Artist winners the Alabama Shakes, who performed “Be Mine,” and Bonnie Raitt, who performed “Thing Called Love” along with John Hiatt.

Take a look at a complete list of winners below.

Americana Music Awards and Honors 2012 Award Winners

Instrumentalist of the Year: Dave Rawlings
Album of the Year: This One’s For Him: A Tribute to Guy Clark; produced by Tamara Saviano and Shawn Camp
Song Of The Year Award : “Alabama Pines;” Written by Jason Isbell and performed by Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit
Emerging Artist of the Year: Alabama Shakes
Artist of the Year: Gillian Welch 
Duo/Group of the Year: The Civil Wars 
Lifetime Achievement for Performance: Bonnie Raitt 
Lifetime Achievement Award for Instrumentalist: Booker T. Jones 
Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriting: Richard Thompson 
Lifetime Achievement Award for Executive: Dennis Lord