Exclusive: North Carolina's Mount Moriah Signs to Merge Records

Watch the video for "Plane," listen to "Lament" below

Music News North Carolina
Share Tweet Submit Pin

North Carolina  folk rockers Mount Moriah have signed to Merge Records. The label will be releasing the band’s self-titled debut on LP on Oct. 2, as well as their sophomore full-length album early in 2013.

Led by Heather McEntire and Jenks Miller—who met while working at a record store in Chapel Hill, N.C.—Mount Moriah play smoldering, seething folk rock highlighted by the sharp tongue of McEntire.

In addition to playing at Merge’s CMJ showcase in New York this October, Mount Moriah have scheduled a handful of November performances. Take a list at their upcoming schedule below, as well as the tracklisting of their soon-to-be-released debut. You can also pre-order the album here.



Mount Moriah – Plane from Merge Records on Vimeo.

Mount Moriah Tracklist
1. Only Way Out
2. Social Wedding Rings
3. Plane
4. Lament
5. Old Gowns
6. Reckoning
7. We Don’t Need Much
8. Hail, Lightning

Mount Moriah Tour Dates
18 – New York, N.Y. @ Mercury Lounge (Merge CMJ Showcase)

11 - Brooklyn, N.Y. @ Union Pool
12 - Northampton, Mass. @ Iron Horse Music Hall ^
13 - Philadelphia, Pa. @ Johnny Brenda’s ^
14 - Washington, D.C. @ Rock & Roll Hotel ^

w/ Mirah = ^

Recently in Music
More from North Carolina