Former Girls Frontman Christopher Owens Announces Solo Debut

Music News Christopher Owens
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Former Girls Frontman Christopher Owens Announces Solo Debut

This summer, Christopher Owens made a surprising announcement that he was leaving Girls, the San Francisco duo he fronted. His departure came not even a year after Girls had released Father, Son, Holy Ghost, regarded by many as one of the best albums of 2011. Owens did promise that he would continue to write and record music, however, and it looks like he wasn’t kidding. He recently announced the release of his debut solo album, Lysandre, which is due out Jan. 15 on Fat Possum.

Lysandre is named for a girl Owens met in France, and the album was inspired by Girls’ first tour in the summer of 2008. “Lysandre could easily be mistaken as an album about a love affair,” said Owens. “But it’s much more than that.”

Recorded at Hobby Shop Studios in L.A. along with former Girls producer Doug Boehm, Lysandre’s 11 tracks were said to have been written in a single creative outpouring. You can stream to of its tracks, “Lysandre’s Theme” and “Here We Go,” at Owens’ website. Below you can check out Lysandre’s complete tracklisting.

Lysandre Tracklist

1. Lysandre’s Theme
2. Here We Go
3. New York City
4. A Broken Heart
5. Here We Go Again
6. Riviera Rock
7. Love Is In The Ear Of The Listener
8. Lysandre
9. Everywhere You Knew
10. Closing Theme
11. Part Of Me (Lysandre’s Epiologue)