Stream Ben Gibbard's Solo Album, Former Lives

Music News
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Stream Ben Gibbard's Solo Album, <i>Former Lives</i>

Death Cab for Cutie  and Postal Service frontman Ben Gibbard will release his highly anticipated solo debut, Former Lives, on Oct. 16.

Speaking about the new record, Gibbard recently told Paste that the “songs haven’t been so much ‘old songs.’ There are songs that are relatively new and some songs go back to 2004. I didn’t record with the idea of it being a long record. I just found myself with enough surplus material, and I wanted to do more recording. I was doing songs for Codes and Keys and I found myself with time and a place to do this record.”

The album will come by way of Seattle label Barsuk, who has been so kind as to offer a complete stream of Former Lives via YouTube.

Have a listen to all 36-plus minutes below. For your reference, the tracklist is below the stream.

Former Lives Tracklist

1. Shepherd’s Bush Lullaby
2. Dream Song
3. Teardrop Windows
4. Bigger Than Love
5. Lily
6. Something’s Rattling (Cowpoke)
7. Duncan, Where Have You Gone?
8. Oh, Woe
9. A Hard One to Know
10. Lady Adelaide
11. Broken Yolk in Western Sky
12. I’m Building a Fire