Son Volt Announces New Album, April Tour Dates

Music News Son Volt
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Son Volt Announces New Album, April Tour Dates

Son Volt  has announced the release of Honky Tonk, the follow-up to 2009’s American Central Dust.

According to a press release, the 11-track album features a mix of classic honky tonk and acoustic-based songs about “heartache, heartbreak, and the road.”

“I was always averse to using certain words in songs, including ‘love’ and ‘heart,’” frontman Jay Farrar explained. “But I started using them on American Central Dust, and now I guess the floodgates have opened.”

Farrar also credited learning to play pedal steel guitar during time off between Son Volt records as an inspiration for the sound of the record. The alt-country band also released national tour dates for April 2013. The tour kicks off at Nashville’s Mercy Lounge.

Honky Tonk will be released via Rounder Records on March 5. Check out the track list and tour dates below.

Honky Tonk Tracklist:
1. Hearts and Minds
2. Brick Walls
3. Wild Side
4. Down the Highway
5. Bakersfield
6. Livin’ On
7. Tears of Change
8. Angel of the Blues
9. Seawall
10. Barricades
11. Shine On

Son Volt Tour Dates:
10 - Nashville, Tenn. @ Mercy Lounge
11 - Asheville, N.C. @ The Orange Peel
12 - Atlanta, Ga. @ Terminal West
13 - Carrboro, N.C. @ Cat’s Cradle
14 - Knoxville, Tenn. @ Bijou Theatre
16 - Birmingham, Ala. @ WorkPlay Theatre
17 - New Orleans, La. @ The Parish
18 - Houston, Texas @ Continental Club
19 - Austin, Texas @ Old Settler’s Music Festival
20 - Dallas, Texas @ Sons of Herman Hall