Surfer Blood Announces New Album Pythons, Tour Dates

Music News Surfer Blood
Share Tweet Submit Pin

West Palm Beach natives Surfer Blood have announced the release of their second album and major label debut, Pythons.

You can listen the first song from the new album, “Weird Shapes,” below, but it’s also available for download on the band’s website. Frontman John Paul Pitts calls the song “a left of center pop song about someone who is about to go through a manic episode” and said it’s “one of the most dynamic songs we’ve ever written.”

Pitts made headlines last year when he was arrested on domestic violence charges. Reports last year said the charges could be dropped this April if he completes a court-mandated program following accusations of battery from his then girlfriend.

Freshly signed to Warner Brothers Records, Surfer Blood moved from Florida to Los Angeles last May to record Pythons. In California they worked with Gil Norton, the former producer of The Pixies, who Surfer Blood was an opening act for during their 2011 tour.

The band also announced a string of West Coast tour dates leading up to their appearance at this year’s SXSW Music Conference in March. Full tour dates are below.

24 – Santa Cruz, Calif. @ The Crepe Palace
25 – San Francisco, Calif. @ Brick and Mortar
26 – Sacramento, Calif. @ Blue Lamp
27 – Santa Barbara, Calif. @ Muddy Waters 

1 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ The Echo
3 – San Diego, Calif. Casbah

Also in Music