Kurt Vile Officially Announces Wakin’ on a Pretty Daze, Listen to a New Song

Music News Kurt Vile
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Kurt Vile Officially Announces <i>Wakin&#8217; on a Pretty Daze</i>, Listen to a New Song

Kurt Vile  has just announced that his forthcoming album Wakin on a Pretty Daze will be released via Matador Records on April 9.

The double album, which clocks in at nearly 70 minutes, was recorded with producer Joe Agnello during the second half of last year. It is a follow up to Vile’s 2011 album Smoke Ring for My Halo.

You can watch the video for the album’s opening track, “Wakin On A Pretty Day,” below. This video features footage taken by Philadelphia artist Steve Powers, who rose to prominence in the late 1990s for his graffiti under the name ESPO.

The track is also available for download on Matador’s website, and you can pre-order physical editions of the album here or pre-order a digital copy on iTunes. A special deluxe double vinyl edition features a cover with stickers so you can customize your own album art, and the album itself is pressed on numbered blue vinyl.

In addition to announcing details about Walkin on a Pretty Daze, Vile also announced a string of spring tour dates with his Violators, beginning with appearances at Coachella in April. Full tour dates are below.

14 – Indio, Calif. @ Coachella Festival
21 – Indio, Calif. @ Coachella Festival

4 – Atlanta, Ga. @ Shaky Knees Festival
5 – Atlanta, Ga. @ Shaky Knees Festival
7 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Echoplex
8 – San Francisco, Calif. @ Independent
10 – Portland, Ore. @ Doug Fir
11 – Vancouver, British Columbia @ Biltmore
12 – Seattle, Wash. @ Neumos
14 – Chicago, Ill. @ Lincoln Hall
16 – New York, N.Y. @ Bowery Ballroom
17 – Boston, Mass. @ The Sinclair
18 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ Union Transfer
24 – Barcelona, Spain @ Primavera Sound Festival
25 – London, England @ Field Day
26 – Brussels, Belgium @ AB
27 – Amsterdam, The Netherlands @ Paradiso
28 – Hamburg, Germany @ Knust
29 – Copenhagen, Denmark @ Amager Bio