New Trailer, Album Tracklist for Jay-Z-Produced Great Gatsby Revealed

Movies News Jay-Z
Share Tweet Submit Pin
New Trailer, Album Tracklist for Jay-Z-Produced <i>Great Gatsby</i> Revealed

F. Scott Fitzgerald’s classic novel The Great Gatsby was renowned for exploring the dark underbelly of the upper class. Hence, in putting together the film’s soundtrack, it’s only fitting that executive producer Jay-Z should gather together the upper echelon of artists working today. Fergie and are also included in the soundtrack.

Early this morning, Warner Bros. Pictures and Universal Music Group’s Interscope Records announced the tracklist for The Great Gatsby. Together with music consultant Jeymes Samuel, Jay-Z has brought in the likes of Florence and the Machine, The xx, Gotye, Beyonce, André 3000, Jack White and Lana Del Rey.

As with his 2001 film Moulin Rouge, director Baz Luhrmann says he will be incorporating modern-day music into this period drama.

“F. Scott Fitzgerald’s novel is peppered with contemporary music references specific to the story’s setting of 1922,” Luhrmann stated, “While we acknowledge, as Fitzgerald phrased it, ‘the Jazz Age,’ and this is the period represented on screen, we—our audience—are living in the ‘hip-hop age’ and want our viewers to feel the impact of modern-day music the way Fitzgerald did for the readers of his novel at the time of its publication.”

Jay-Z  further elaborated on the musical choices in a previous stament.

The Great Gatsby is that classic American story of one’s introduction to extravagance, decadence and illusion,” he said. It’s ripe for experimentation and ready to be interpreted with a modern twist. The imagination Baz brought to Moulin Rouge! made it a masterpiece, and Romeo + Juliet’s’ score wasn’t just in the background; the music became a character. This film’s vision and direction has all the makings of an epic experience,”

The 14-track soundtrack is scheduled to be released internationally in physical, digital, deluxe and standard formats on May 6. On May 7, Target stores and will serve as the exclusive U.S. retailer of a special 17-track deluxe edition of the album.

The first track to be officially be releaeed will be “Young and Beautiful” from Lana Del Rey. View the rest of the tracks below.

The Great Gatsby Tracklist
1. 100$ Bill – JAY Z
2. Back To Black – Beyoncé and André 3000
3. Bang Bang –
4. A Little Party Never Killed Nobody (All We Got) – Fergie and Q Tip and GoonRock
5. Young And Beautiful – Lana Del Rey 
6. Love Is The Drug – Bryan Ferry with The Bryan Ferry Orchestra
7. Over The Love – Florence and The Machine 
8. Where The Wind Blows – Coco O. of Quadron
9. Crazy in Love – Emeli Sandé and The Bryan Ferry Orchestra
10. Together – The xx 
11. Hearts A Mess – Gotye
12. Love Is Blindness – Jack White 
13. Into the Past – Nero
14. Kill and Run – Sia

Watch a new trailer for the film below, which features snippets of Beyonce and André 3000’s cover of “Back to Black,” Del Rey’s “Young and Beautiful” and Florence and the Machine’s “Over the Love.”