Bloc Party Announces New Five-Track EP

Music News Bloc Party
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Bloc Party Announces New Five-Track EP

Three weeks after announcing another indefinite hiatus, their second after their break from 2009-2011, Bloc Party has once again thrown fans for a loop.

The British indie-rockers announced today that they will release The Nextwave Sessions EP later this summer. The five-song EP contains tracks the band wrote, performed and recorded over the course of their 2012 world tour in support of their recent fourth studio album, Four, and it includes production credits from Dan Carey, who has previously produced for Bat For Lashes and Hot Chip.

The lead track off of the EP, “Ratchet,” which the band described in a press release as “viscously danceable,” will premiere tonight on BBC Radio 1.

“Ratchet was the first song we recorded with Dan. It really came together whilst we were on tour in 2012,” lead singer Kele Okereke said in the press release. “We started slipping it into the sets at the start of this year just to try it out and the reactions were insane. We knew we had something special.”

The Nextwave Sessions EP is out on Aug. 13 on Frenchkiss Records. Check out the tracklist below.

The Nextwave Sessions EP Tracklist
1. Ratchet
2. Obscene
3. French Exit
4. Montreal
5. Children Of The Future