Elton John to Release New Album This September

Music News Elton John
Share Tweet Submit Pin

After seven years, Elton John will be back with a new album on Sept. 24.

Today, the 66-year-old released a trailer for The Diving Board, the singer’s first solo album since The Captain & the Kid in 2006. The black-and-white video shows footage of John playing the album’s single, “Home Again,” on the piano and speaking about the upcoming record.

“I feel I’m starting again making records,” he says in the video. “What kind of music do I really want to make? I have to go back to go forward again. I am on the diving board.” You can watch the trailer above.

Produced by T Bone Burnett, The Diving Board will feature 12 new songs written by John and lyricist Bernie Taupin. Currently, John’s 30th studio album is available for pre-order on iTunes, EltonJohn.com and Amazon. And starting today, fans who pre-order the album on iTunes and John’s official website will also receive an instant download of “Home Again.”

“I realized that I had to go back to go forward again. I needed to strip away the excesses and get back to the core of what I do as an artist. That’s what The Diving Board represents,” John said in a press release. “I’m incredibly excited about every aspect of this album: The performances, T Bone’s production, Bernie’s lyrics and the songs we’ve created. The Diving Board is the album I’ve been waiting to make for decades.”

The Diving Board Tracklist:
1. Oceans Away
2. Oscar Wilde Gets Out
3. A Town Called Jubilee
4. The Ballad of Blind Tom
5. Dream #1
6. My Quicksand
7. Can’t Stay Alone Tonight
8. Voyeur
9. Home Again
10. Take This Dirty Water
11. Dream #2
12. The New Fever Waltz
13. Mexican Vacation (Kids In The Candlelight)
14. Dream #3
15. The Diving Board

Recently in Music