Listen to Iron & Wine's New Track from The Lone Ranger: Wanted

Music News Iron & Wine
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Listen to Iron & Wine's New Track from <i>The Lone Ranger: Wanted</i>

Although Sam Beam has been putting out albums filled with huge, layered arrangements, his latest track proves that he’s still just as adept at his older rustic styling. Iron & Wine was just one of many esteemed artists who contributed music for The Lone Ranger: Wanted, a collection of 14 tracks inspired by the film’s gritty vibes. Spin is currently streaming Iron & Wine’s looming new track “Rattling Bones” from the album.

Acts like Ben Kweller, Iggy Pop and Grace Potter & The Nocturnals contributed music for the release which is comprised of artists that were “listened to on the way to the set,” according to the film’s director Gore Verbinski (Pirates of the Carribean).

“Rattling Bones” feels like friendly territory for Iron & Wine, the lyricism dabbles in religious nods and vivid imagery that places the listener right into the Western aesthetic that The Lone Ranger demands.

The Lone Ranger: Wanted will be released on July 2, the day before the film hits theaters. Check the full tracklist below and head over to Spin to stream “Rattling Bones.”

The Lone Ranger: Wanted Tracklist
1. Ben Kweller – “Holy Water”
2. Grace Potter & the Nocturnals – ”Devil’s Train”
3. Shane MacGowan – ”Poor Paddy on the Railway”
4. Pete Molinari – ”So Long Gone”
5. Sara Watkins – ”Central and Union”
6. White Buffalo – ”The American Dream”
7. Dave Alvin – ”Lonesome Whistle”
8. Iggy Pop – ”Sweet Betsy from Pike”
9. Iron & Wine – ”Rattling Bone”
10. Rubens – ”Cowboy”
11. Lucinda Williams – ”Everything but the Truth”
12. Aggrolites – ”The Truth Lives On”
13. Gomez – ”Butch’s Ballad”
14. John Grant – ”Saddle the Wind”