Phil Cook Announces New EP, Listen to "The Jensens"

Music News Phil Cook
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Phil Cook Announces New EP, Listen to "The Jensens"

Multi-instrumentalist and folk artist Phil Cook has announced the release of This Side Up, a new solo EP due out later this summer.

Cook, known for his work in Megafaun and The Shouting Matches (with Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon), has teamed with Paste to premiere the EP’s first track, “The Jensens,” which is available to stream below.

This Side Up follows 2011’s Hungry Mother Blues, Cook’s debut solo album, and it marks Cook’s first release with a full band. The new EP contains four instrumental folk tracks and features Nick Sanborn (Megafaun, Sylvan Esso) on bass and Daniel “Yan” Westerlund (Bowerbirds) on drums.

Cook recently released Grownass Man with The Shouting Matches earlier this year, and also recently contributed to albums by The Blind Boys of Alabama and Hiss Golden Messenger. He’s currently working on his second solo album, due out in 2014, and he will support The Be Good Tanyas on their upcoming U.K. tour, with U.S. dates expected to be announced soon.

This Side Up is out on Aug. 13 on Trekky Records. Listen to “The Jensens,” a track from the new EP below, and check out Cook’s tour dates below that.

Phil Cook Tour Dates (with The Be Good Tanyas)

27 - Sheffield, U.K. @ Sheffield Memorial Hall
28 - Brighton, U.K. @ St Georges Hall

2 - London, U.K. @ Union Chapel
3 - Norwich, U.K. @ Norwich Arts Centre
5 - Glasgow, U.K. @ ABC
6 - Gateshead, U.K. @ The Sage Gateshead
7 - Reading, U.K. @ Town Hall