Of Montreal Announces New Album lousy with sylvianbriar, Releases First Single

Music News Of Montreal
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Of Montreal Announces New Album <i>lousy with sylvianbriar</i>, Releases First Single

Georgia’s of Montreal is now set to deliver its twelfth offering. On Oct. 8, the band will drop lousy with sylvianbriar via Polyvinyl. Montreal’s songwriter, Kevin Barnes, teamed up with engineer Drew Vandenberg (Deerhunter, Toro y Moi) to record the album in Barnes’ home studio on a 24-track tape machine in just three weeks, with most of it done live with all members in the same room together.

“I knew I wanted the process to be more in line with the way people used to make albums in the late 60s and early 70s,” Barnes said. “I wanted to work fast and to maintain a high level of spontaneity and immediacy. I wanted the songs to be more lyric-driven, and for the instrumental arrangements to be understated and uncluttered.”

Of Montreal  also revealed album opener and lead single, “fugitive air.” You can listen to it below.

lousy with sylvianbriar Tracklist:
1. fugitive air
2. obsidian currents
3. belle glade missionairies
4. sirens of your toxic spirit
5. colossus
6. triumph of disintegration
7. amphibian days
8. she ain’t speakin’ now
9. hegira émigré
10. raindrop in my skull
11. imbecile rages