Red Hot + Fela Charity Compilation Album Features My Morning Jacket, tUnE-yArDs, TV on the Radio

Music News My Morning Jacket
Share Tweet Submit Pin
<i>Red Hot + Fela</i> Charity Compilation Album Features My Morning Jacket, tUnE-yArDs, TV on the Radio

Last year, Red Hot came out with the Rhythms Del Mundo: Africa remix compilation, which featured artists like Fleet Foxes and Mumford & Sons, while artists such as Beirut, Beck, of Montreal, Neon Indian, Stereolab St. Vincent, John Legend, David Byrne and Devandra Banhart also appearing on past tributes.

Now, the charity organization is set to release its latest effort, Red Hot + Fela, a collection of Fela Kuti compositions reinterpreted by a new slate of talented performers, this fall.

The album’s tracklist includes 13 total re-imaginings: My Morning Jacket, tUnE-yArDs’ Merrill Garbus and Alabama Shakes’ Brittany Howard collaboration on “Trouble Sleep Yanga Wake Am;” tUnE-yArDs and Questlove’s 2012 cover of “Lady;” Childish Gambino and Just a Band taking on “Who No Know Go No;” “Sorrow and Tears” reworked by TV on the Radio’s Kyp Malone and Tunde Adebimpe; and Chicago’s Chance the Rapper on “Gentlemen,” just to name a few. For an early sample of the album, you can check out Baloji & L’Orchestre de la Katuba’s opening track “Buy Africa” here.

Red Hot + Fela will be out Oct. 8 via Knitting Factory Records and will benefit AIDS awareness and research. It’s available for pre-order now.

Red Hot + Fela Track List:
1. “Buy Africa” – Baloji & L’Orchestre de la Katuba featuring Kuku
2. “Lady” – tUnE-yArDs, Questlove, Angelique Kidjo + Akua Naru
3. “Yellow Fever” – Spoek Mathambo + Zaki Ibrahim
4. “No Buredi” – Nneka, Sinkane, Amayo + Superhuman Happiness
5. “Who No Know Go No” – Just A Band + Childish Gambino 
6. “Trouble Sleep Yanga Wake Am” – My Morning Jacket w/ Merrill Garbus + Brittany Howard
7. “Sorrow Tears and Blood” – Kyp Malone and Tunde Adebimpe, Kronos Quartet + Stuart Bogie
8. “ITT” – Superhuman Happiness w/ Sahr Ngaujah, Abena Koomson + Rubblebucket 
9. “Afrodisco Beat 2013” – Tony Allen, M1 + Baloji
10. “Gentleman” – Just A Band, Bajah + Chance the Rapper 
11. “Hi Life Time” – GendEr Infinity
12. “Zombie” – Spoek Mathambo Cerebral Cortex Frown
13. “Go Slow” – King