The National, Patti Smith, St. Vincent to Appear on Boardwalk Empire Soundtrack

Music News Patti Smith
Share Tweet Submit Pin
The National, Patti Smith, St. Vincent to Appear on <i>Boardwalk Empire</i> Soundtrack

The fourth season of HBO’s critically acclaimed series Boardwalk Empire is known for having music composed and performed by some of the most talented people in the business.

Last year, volume one of Boardwalk’s soundtrack took home the Grammy for Best Compilation Soundtrack for Visual Media, and with a look at the new group of artists contributing to the next soundtrack, they could possibly repeat the honor.

The National, Patti Smith, St. Vincent, Elvis Costello and many others will be featured on volume two covering songs all from the 1920s. The music supervisor on the show, Randall Poster, expressed his excitement in a statement: “Boardwalk Empire provides an incredible backdrop for music. It’s been a steady treat to mark the passing of time in song over the course of four seasons. Terry Winters, Martin Scorsese and the entire Boardwalk Empire team inspire the sound of the episodes.”

NME has the official tracklisting of the soundtrack which you could check out below as well as the season four trailer for Boardwalk Empire, which airs Sept. 8.

David Johansen – “Strut Miss Lizzie”
Stephen DeRosa – “Old King Tut”
Elvis Costello – “It Had To Be You”
Vince Giordano & the Nighthawks – “Everybody Loves My Baby”
Liza Minnelli – “You’ve Got To See Mama Ev’ry Night (Or You Can’t See Mama At All)”
Leon Redbone – “Baby Won’t You Please Come Home”
St Vincent – “Make Believe”
Pokey LaFarge – “Lovesick Blues”
Neko Case – “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out”
Karen Elson – “Who’s Sorry Now”
Stephan DeRosa – “You’d Be Surprised”
Margot Bingham – “I’m Going South”
Vince Giordano & the Nighthawks – “Sugarfoot Stomp”
Rufus Wainwright – “Jimbo Jambo”
Kathy Brier – “There’ll Be Some Changes Made”
Margot Bingham – “Somebody Loves Me”
Chaim Tannenbaum – “All Alone”
Loudon Wainwright III – “The Prisoner’s Song”
Patti Smith – “I Ain’t Got Nobody”
Matt Berninger – “I’ll See You In My Dreams”