Gary Lightbody, Peter Buck's Tired Pony Announces New Album

Music News Peter Buck
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Gary Lightbody, Peter Buck's Tired Pony Announces New Album


Following up 2010’s critically acclaimed debut (The Place We Ran From), Tired Pony have announced the release date for their second studio album titled The Ghost of the Mountain. The LP will be released on Oct. 1 by Gary Lightbody’s own label, Heaneyville.

If you aren’t familiar with the band, Tired Pony is Lightbody (Snow Patrol), Peter Buck (R.E.M.), Iain Archer, Richard Colburn (Belle and Sebastian), Scott McCaughey, Troy Stewart and producer/multi-instrumentalist Garret “Jacknife” Lee. The album was recorded over nine days in Lee’s Topanga Canyon studio.

“We were trying to soak up the Topanga canyon folk vibe but also bring the discordant Krautrock and weird synth-pop sound into it too,” Buck said in a statement. The sophomore release also features contributions by guest vocalists Bronagh Gallagher, Kim Topper and Minnie Driver.

Lightbody also mentioned that the new album will tackle themes and stories from two characters and their perspective on life, continuing from the first album. “We had so much fun doing the first one and I had so much more to say on the characters,” he explains.

Check out a video of the band performing the song “All Things All At Once” as well as the tracklisting for the forthcoming album below.

1. I Don’t Want You As A Ghost
2. I’m Begging You Not To Go
3. Blood
4. The Creak In The Floorboards
5. All Things All At Once
6. Wreckage and Bone
7. The Beginning Of The End
8. Carve Our Names
9. Ravens and Wolves
10. Punishment
11. The Ghost Of The Mountain
12. Your Way Is The Way Home