Dum Dum Girls Announce New Album Too True, Release New Video

Music News Dum Dum Girls
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Dum Dum Girls Announce New Album <i>Too True</i>, Release New Video

Dum Dum Girls  have announced a follow-up to their 2011 album Only in Dreams. The album, Too True, will be out Jan. 28 on Sub Pop.

Too True, according to frontwoman Dee Dee, was written and recorded in New York and Hollywood, during breaks from touring in 2012, the singer said in a press release. She also said that artists such as Madonna, the Cure, and Stone Roses had a heavy influence on the album. “Do you hear Suede? Siouxie? Cold-wave Patti? Madonna? Cure? Velvet and Paisley Undergrounds? Stone Roses? Cuz I did.”

Dee Dee talked about the process of settling down to write her next album. “I had collected various songs and half-songs over the previous months, vaguely regarding them as future releases, but had the nagging feeling they were to be tossed out on the hunt for the next sound, the next record, which was at that point almost palpable. I spent the next week in a sparkling haze, seven stories closer to Heaven, and when I emerged from the frenzy to go back on tour, indeed ten new songs came with. They were bound together, not just by an overall sonic palette and new guitar pedal, but by time, intention, and fervor.”

Dee Dee also explained that extensive touring caused her to have vocal troubles and forced her to focus her energy on writing. “I put pen to paper and I wrote, and then I sang. I sang into my own private microphone, in my tiny bedroom studio, with no one save my make-believe coconspirators to hear me, and no one to weight me with the looming pressure of inability. I was a woman possessed and my possession enabled me.”

The band have also teamed up with H&M to debut the first single and video from the album, “Lost Boys and Girls Club.” Directed by Cody Critcheloe of SSION, the project is a new initiative by H&M “where young artists from different parts of the world produce music videos with the support of H&M.”

Too True Tracklist
1. Cult of Love
2. Evil Blooms
3. Rimbaud Eyes
4. Are You Okay
5. Too True to Be Good
6. In the Wake of You
7. Lost Boys and Girls Club
8. Little Minx
9. Under These Hands
10. Trouble Is My Name