Legacy Records to Re-release Uncle Tupelo's Debut Album with New Demos, Live Cuts

Music News
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Before there was Jeff Tweedy’s Wilco, Jay Farrar’s Son Volt and other forerunners of the alt-country movement, there was Uncle Tupelo, one of the bands responsible for popularizing that style of music.

Legacy Recordings plans to release Uncle Tupelo’s No Depression: Legacy Edition, two discs that include both’s the band’s debut album as well as never-before-released demos and live cuts.

Vic Anesini remastered the original record, and Legacy has added new liner notes as well as the band’s eight-song demo from 1989, Not Forever, Just For Now.

Though Legacy will issue the two-disc set on Jan. 28, the labels plans to release an exclusive 7’-inch vinyl record of Uncle Tupelo’s cover of “I Wanna Be Your Dog” by The Stooges. The record’s b-side will include the band’s cover of “Commotion” by Creedence Clearwater Revival.

Check out No Depression: Legacy Edition’s track list below.

Track List

Disc One
No Depression (Original Album)
1. Graveyard Shift
2. That Year
3. Before I Break
4. No Depression
5. Factory Belt
6. Whiskey Bottle
7. Outdone
8. Train
9. Life Worth Livin’
10. Flatness
11. So Called Friend
12. Screen Door
13. John Hardy

No Depression Era Odds & Ends
14. Left In The Dark
15. Won’t Forget
16. I Got Drunk
17. Sin City
18. Whiskey Bottle (Live Acoustic)

Disc Two
Not Forever, Just For Now (No Depression Demos, Produced By Matt Allison, 1989)
1. Outdone
2. That Year
3. Whiskey Bottle
4. Flatness
5. I Got Drunk
6. Before I Break
7. Life Worth Livin’
8. Train
9. Graveyard Shift
10. Screen Door

From Live & Otherwise (Self-Released Cassette, 1988)
11.No Depression
12.Blues Die Hard

From Colorblind and Rhymeless (1987 Cassette Demo)
13. Before I Break
14. I Got Drunk
15. Screen Door
16. Blues Die Hard
17. Pickle River

Recently in Music