Drive-By Truckers Announce New Album English Oceans, Tour

Music News Drive-by Truckers
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Drive-By Truckers Announce New Album <i>English Oceans</i>, Tour

Drive-By Truckers have announced their newest album, which is titled English Oceans and set for a March 4, 2014 release.

The follow-up to 2011’s Go-Go Boots, English Oceans is the 12th studio effort from Drive-By Truckers. The album was recorded in under two weeks in Athens, Ga. with the band’s longtime producer David Barbe. According to the band, the songwriting duties were split evenly between co-founders Mike Cooley, who brought six new songs to the album, and Patterson Hood.

For this record, Drive-By Truckers used a reconstructed unit, enlisting the help of Jay Gonzalez, who joined the band in 2008, and bassist Matt Patton from Tuscaloosa-based band The Dexateens. “It’s a very tasteful group, and when it needs to be it can be a very big, powerful, over-the-top band, too, and it can go from one to the other seamlessly,” Hood said in a press release.

In addition to announcing the release of English Oceans, Drive-By Truckers also announced a string of North American and European tour dates.

English Oceans is out March 4, 2014 via ATO.

English Oceans Tracklist:
1. Shit Shots Count
2. When He’s Gone
3. Primer Coat
4. Pauline Hawkins
5. Made Up English Oceans
6. The Part of Him
7. Hearing Jimmy Loud
8. Til He’s Dead or Rising
9. Hanging On
10. Natural Light
11. When Walter Went Crazy
12. First Air of Autumn
13. Grand Canyon

Drive-By Truckers 2014 Tour Dates

31 – Asheville, N.C. @ Orange Peel

1 – Asheville, N.C. @ Orange Peel
13 – Athens, Ga. @ 40 Watt
14 – Athens, Ga. @ 40 Watt
15 – Athens, Ga. @ 40 Watt

10 – Dublin @ Vicar Street
11 – Glasgow, United Kingdom @ ABC
12 – Manchester, United Kingdom @ Ritz
13 – London @ Shepherd’s Bush Empire
15 – Amsterdam @ Paradiso
16 – Antwerp, Belgium @ Trix