Gotham Independent Film Awards Winners Announced

Movies News gotham
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Gotham Independent Film Awards Winners Announced

Last night marked another year of the Gotham Independent Film Awards, a New York-based awards ceremony that—per its name—celebrates the best in independent filmmaking. The ceremony is presented courtesy of the Independent Filmmaker Project, an advocacy group for independent filmmakers. Held in New York’s Cipriani Wall Street, the night served as a kick-off to this year’s awards season while also shaking up a few category races in the process.

To the surprise of many pundits, the Coen Brothers’ more low-key folk music drama Inside Llewyn Davis walked away with Best Feature over awards favorite 12 Years a Slave. Also shocking was Brie Larson’s victory over Blue Jasmine’s Cate Blanchett. Larson took home the award for the well-received drama Short Term 12.

Besides the awards portion, the show also paid tribute to several industry heavyweights, including Before Midnight director Richard Linklater, the late Sopranos star James Gandolfini, New York-based media and entertainment executive Katherine Oliver and Lee Daniels’ The Butler lead actor Forest Whitaker. Whitaker’s segment was somewhat derailed when presenter Lee Daniels scolded the audience for talking during his speech.

“Forest would like to hear all you talking through my speech, so shut the fuck up,” Daniels reportedly said, according to Deadline.

Here are the list of nominees and winners (winners are bolded):

Best Feature:
Inside Llewyn Davis
  12 Years a Slave
Ain’t Them Bodies Saints
Before Midnight
Upstream Color

Best Documentary:
The Act of Killing
The Crash Reel
First Cousin Once Removed
Let the Fire Burn
Our Nixon

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award:
Ryan Coogler (Fruitvale Station)
Adam Leon (Gimme the Loot)
Alexandre Moors (Blue Caprice)
Stacie Passon (Concussion)
Amy Seimetz (Sun Don’t Shine)

Best Actor:
Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club)
Chiwetel Ejiofor  (12 Years a Slave)
Oscar Isaac (Inside Llewyn Davis)
Robert Redford (All Is Lost)
Isaiah Washington (Blue Caprice)

Best Actress:
  Brie Larson (Short Term 12)
Cate Blanchett  (Blue Jasmine)
Scarlett Johansson (Don Jon)
Amy Seimetz (Upstream Color)
Shailene Woodley (The Spectacular Now)

Breakthrough Actor:
Michael B. Jordan (Fruitvale Station)
Dane DeHaan (Kill Your Darlings)
Kathryn Hahn (Afternoon Delight)
Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave)
Robin Weigert (Concussion)

Audience Award:
Jake Shimabukuro: Life on Four Strings
  12 Years a Slave
Best Kept Secret
Don’t Stop Believin’: Everyman’s Journey
Fruitvale Station