Fred Armisen to Release 7-inch Series Featuring SNL Bands

Comedy News Fred Armisen
Share Tweet Submit Pin

When Fred Armisen isn’t covering TLC with J. Mascis, or appearing as a regular on Funny or Die, or working on Portlandia, he’s moving on to his next (often music-based) project. The former SNL star will continue to blend humor and tunes in 2014, when the funnyman will release a collection of 7-inch records “dedicated to regional music stars of decades past” titled Hometown Heroes. The collection is set for a release through Drag City.

Armisen added his theatric takes on music to SNL, especially with his farewell performance featuring Kim Gordon, J. Mascis, Aimee Man and many others. He has played drums for Trenchmouth, dueled with ?uestlove and been featured on What’s in My Bag at Amoeba. So the guy knows what’s up (especially when it comes to breakneck drumming), and a Drag City single series is deserved.

The first of the series is a split 7-inch featuring “Massachusetts Afternoon” by The Blue Jean Committee, backed with “Embrace Me” by the Fingerlings. The Blue Jean Committee is described as “the proud products of the late ‘70s Northampton, Massachusetts music scene” while Fingerlings are an early 80’s English “prolific synth/post-disco band who released twelve EPs between 1981 and 1983,” all according to the release.

The Blue Jean Committee was featured on a 2011 episode with Jason Segel, while Dana Carvey’s Fingerlings made their debut the same year. Check out the sketches above and grab the first installment of the series due out on Feb. 18.

Recently in Comedy
More from Fred Armisen