Listen to Andrew Bird Cover New Pornographers' "The Fake Headlines"

Music Audio Andrew Bird
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Andrew Bird’s partnered with the Yellow Bird Project, an organization that allows musicians to raise money for different charities. The project’s debut covers compilation is called Good People Rock, and features “friends covering friends and strangers covering strangers,” like Hayden covering TV on the Radio’s “Family Tree” and Whispertown’s version of Rilo Kiley’s “Give A Little Love.”

Andrew Bird’s rendition of the New Pornographers’ “The Fake Headlines” from Mass Romantic mixes light melodies and crisp harmonics with beautifully plucked and bowed strings. Listen to it above.

Good People Rock is being crowdsourced through Pledge Music. Watch a video to learn more about the Yellow Bird Project and check out the tracklist for the compilation below.

Good People Rock Tracklist
1. Andrew Bird: “Fake Headlines” (The New Pornographers)
2. Hayden: “Family Tree” (TV on the Radio)
3. Elvis Perkins with Alec Ounsworth: “Mexican Ritual” (Alec Ounsworth)
4. Whispertown: “Give A Little Love” (Rilo Kiley)
5. Micah P. Hinson: “Not One Bit Ashamed” (King Creosote)
6. King Creosote: “Take It In” (Hot Chip)
7. Alec Ounsworth: “How’s Forever Been Baby” (Elvis Perkins)
8. Keaton Henson: “Take Care” (Beach House)
9. Dry the River: “Satellite Mind” (Metric)
10. T E Morris: “Much More Then That” (Sharon Van Etten)