Interpol Announces New Album El Pintor

Music News
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Interpol fans have been waiting four years for new music from the suit-clad indie rock outfit, and soon enough, we’ll all be able to get a hold of the band’s newest effort, El Pintor. The title, which translates to “The Painter” in Spanish, appears to also play off the band’s name, meaning they’re effectively following up their self-titled album with a…kind of rearranged self-titled album. Recorded during a two-year break from touring, the album will be released on Sept. 9 on Matador Records.

The album will mark the first release from the band without bassist Carlos Dengler. Instead, vocalist and guitarist Paul Banks took over bass parts for . The album also features tracks with Brandon Curtis from the Secret Machines and Roger Joseph Manning, Jr. from Beck playing keyboards as well as Rob Moose from Bon Iver playing strings.

El Pintor is the fifth album by Interpol and the first work since their self titled release back in 2010. The band has been together since 1997 and rose to fame with 2002’s Turn on the Bright Lights, now regarded as an indie rock classic.

Interpol played new songs off the album during the NME Awards tour in the U.K. back in March, giving audiences a sneak peek at tracks “Anywhere,” “My Desire” and “All the Rage Back Home.” Now, with the band embarking on a summer tour and finally putting out the highly anticipated album, we’ll all be able to get a taste of what Interpol’s been working on during these past few years. Check out the tracklist for El Pintor below, as well as a teaser video that documents the album’s recording.

El Pintor Tracklist
1. All the Rage Back Home
2. My Desire
3. Anywhere
4. Same Town, New Story
5. My Blue Supreme
6. Everything is Wrong
7. Breaker 1
8. Ancient Ways
9. Tidal Wave
10. Twice as Hard

Recently in Music