Comic Book Writers Matt Fraction and Kelly Sue DeConnick Adapting Sex Criminals to TV

Comics News Matt Fraction
Share Tweet Submit Pin

As is the case with many forms of adaption, taking comic books from the page to a TV screen can be trickier than it may seem. The process doesn’t always pan out positively (ahem, Flash Gordon on Syfy) for one reason or another. Fans of Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky’s Sex Criminals should be relieved rather than worried, though, because Fraction and his equally-acclaimed wife, Kelly Sue DeConnick, will be overseeing the comic’s adaptation to TV.

According to Deadline, the power couple of comic books has signed a two-year deal with Universal TV. The deal will see the two adapt not only Sex Criminals, but other comic books they have created as well as some original TV series concepts.

For those who aren’t already familiar and are wondering what to expect from something called Sex Criminals, the comic is about a female librarian and a male actor who realize they have the ability to freeze time when they orgasm. It has won both a Harvey Award and an Eisner Award and was named the best comic of the year by Paste in 2014.

Also in Comics