Iron & Wine, Band of Horses to Collaborate on Covers Album

Music News Iron & Wine
Share Tweet Submit Pin

If the idea of Ben Bridwell and Sam Beam hitting the studio to cover songs by Bonnie Raitt, John Cale, Pete Seeger, and the Talking Heads appeals to you, consider this your lucky day. Band of Horses and Iron & Wine just announced that they’ll be teaming up for a new album called Sing Into Your Mouth that features exclusively cover songs. The album will come out this summer (no firm date yet) on two labels—Beam’s Black Cricket and Bridwell’s Brown Records.

“As excited as I was at the prospect of finally working together, I was unsure of the possibility of us both finding the time,” Bridwell said in a statement. “Luckily for me, Sam was persistent with the idea of recording some of our favorite tunes that we’d always wanted to cover. This is truly a ‘full circle’ moment for me… I’ve always wanted us to sing together and finally I have that dream realized. I couldn’t be more excited to continue this project at the upcoming shows to take it even further while playing some of our original songs together.”

“Ben and I started our careers together and had been threatening to work with one another for years,” added Beam. “When we finally conceived of the covers project and carved out some time, it was nostalgic and fun from top to bottom…he’s always been one of the funniest people I know.”

Check out the tracklist below—all songs were recorded at Echo Mountain Studios in Asheville, NC.

Sing Into Your Mouth:

1. This Must Be the Place (Naive Melody) — Talking Heads 
2. Done This One Before — Ronnie Lane
3. Any Day Woman — Bonnie Raitt 
4. You Know Me More Than I Know — John Cale 
5. Bulletproof Soul — Sade
6. There’s No Way Out of Here — Unicorn
7. God Knows (You Gotta Give to Get) — El Perro del Mar
8. The Straight and Narrow — Spiritualized
9. Magnolia — JJ Cale
10. Am I a Good Man? — Them Two
11. Ab’s Song — Marshall Tucker Band
12. Coyote, My Little Brother — Pete Seeger 

Also in Music