Yoko Ono to Collaborate with Death Cab for Cutie, tUnE-yArDs, Miike Snow and Others for Yes, I'm a Witch Too

Music News Yoko Ono
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Yoko Ono to Collaborate with Death Cab for Cutie, tUnE-yArDs, Miike Snow and Others for <i>Yes, I'm a Witch Too</i>

Yoko Ono’s Yes, I’m a Witch project began in 2007 when artists such as Cat Power, Antony, Le Tigre and others covered tracks from the Japanese artist/activist’s back catalog.

“Back in the 1960s, I was calling for ‘Unfinished Music’, number one, and number two, with my artwork—I was taking unfinished work into the gallery. And that’s how I was looking at it…

“But when John [Lennon] passed away, I got into a funk. People came up to me and said, ‘Could we remix “Walking on Thin Ice”?’ Many artists wanted to remix it and I said, ‘No. No.’ That song that John and I did was the best, you know, and it was the last thing John did with me, and I didn’t feel like touching it,” Ono said in an interview with Pitchfork about the 2007 record. “And then [in 2001 Orange Factory] did ‘Open Your Box’, which was alright with me, and that turned out really great. And then I thought, ‘OK, let’s open it up,’ you know. Pick any song you like, and let’s go with it. And then, suddenly, there was an incredible amount of good music accumulated. There were so many artists that came and did remixes, so we picked the best ones and it turned out really powerful.”

And now, the sequel to that album is in the works and due to be released Jan. 22, 2016 via Manimal. The new collaboration Yes, I’m a Witch Too will feature remixes by the likes of Death Cab for Cutie, tUnE-yArDs, Cibo Matto, Sparks, Sean Lennon, Peter Bjorn and John, Miike Snow and Portugal the Man, among others.

Here’s the album’s unordered tracklist:

Yes, I’m a Witch, Too Tracklist:

Ono with Death Cab for Cutie – “Forgive Me My Love”
Ono with Peter, Bjorn and John – “Mrs. Lennon”
Ono with Jack Douglas – “Move on Fast”
Ono with Sparks – “Give Me Something”
Ono with Penguin Prison – “She Gets Down on Her Knees”
Ono with Portugal the Man – “Soul Got Out of the Box”
Ono with Sean Ono Lennon – “Dogtown”
Ono with tUnE-yArDs – “Warrior Woman”
Ono with Miike Snow – “Catman”
Ono with Cibo Matto – “Yes, I’m Your Angel”
Ono with Dave Audé – “Wouldnit”
Ono with John Palumbo – “I Have a Woman Inside My Soul”
Ono with Ebony Bones – “No Bed for Beatle John”
Ono with Automatique – “Coffin Car”
Ono with Danny Tenaglia – “Walking on Thin Ice”
Ono with Blow Up – “Approximately Infinite Universe”