Americana Music Association Announces 2016 Honorees: William Bell, Bob Weir and More

Music News Americana Music Association
Share Tweet Submit Pin

The Americana Music Association has announced the names of its Lifetime Achievement Honorees for 2016. This year’s recipients include William Bell, Billy Bragg, Shawn Colvin, Woody Guthrie, Jim Lauderdale and Bob Weir.

Singer-songwriter Bell will be awarded with this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Bell released his 16th album earlier this year, his first in a decade. Though not American, musician Bragg embodies the spirit of the Americana genre, which is why he is this year’s The Spirit of Americana Free Speech Award recipient. This year’s Trailblazer honoree is Grammy-award winner Colvin, whose first album was released in 1989 and has recently released an LP with musician Steve Earle. Guthrie is posthumously receiving the President’s Award, which has previously been awarded to B.B. King (2015) and Jimmie Rodgers (2014). The WagonMaster recipient is Lauderdale, who in addition to being an accomplished singer-songwriter himself, has written for Elvis Costello, The Dixie Chicks and George Strait. The Lifetime Achievement Award for a Performer is awarded to Weir, a founding member of the Grateful Dead. Weir has continued to make music since the group disbanded more than 20 years ago and has a new album set to release on Sept. 30.

The Americana Music Association was founded in 1999 with the mission to “advocate for the authentic voice of American roots music around the world,” as stated on the AMA website. This will be the 15th annual awards ceremony and will be held Wednesday, Sept. 21 at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium. Find the AMA’s full announcement here, and enjoy Paste Cloud video and audio from Bragg and Lauderdale, respectively, below.

Recently in Music